Nominees named for Latvian Music Recording Award

The 2008 nominees for the Latvian Music Recording Award (Latvijas Mūzikas Ierakstu Gada Balva) have been announced by the Latvian Music Producers Association, and ex-president Vaira Vīķe-Freiberga is among them.

Vīķe-Freiberga’s album Vairas dziemsas is up for the best folk album award, contending against four other records.

The biggest competition this year, the producers association said in a Jan. 8 press release, will be in the best pop album category, where some of the biggest names are nominated. Best pop album nominees are Linda Leen for Chameleon, Intars Busulis for KINO, Igo for Spēle, Cosmos for Turbulence and Prāta vētra for Tur kaut kam ir jābūt.

This is the 13th year that the Latvian Music Recording Award program is being organized. Winners will be announced during a live television broadcast Feb. 24.

Best rock album nominees are Z-Scars for Tieši sirdī, Detlef Zoo for If It Makes Us Happy, Dons for Lelle, Leģions for Nekad nesaki nekad and Ēnas for Ēnas.

Song of the year nominees are Linda Leen for “Chameleon,” Cosmos for “Tu kā, es kā,” Intars Busulis for “Brīvdiena,” Dzelzs vilks for “Uijā uijā nikni vilki” and Prāta vētra for “Ja tikai uz mani tu paskatītos.”

Best folk music album nominees are Vaira Vīķe-Freiberga and other for Vairas dziesmas, Dzelzs vilks for Uijā uijā nikni vilki, the Latvian Radio Choir for Skaisti dziedi,
Vilkači for Ko kundziņi, and Jānis Kurševs and Iveta Romancāne for Vilnis Salaks: Latviešu tautas dziesmu apdares.

Best academic music album nominees are the State Academic Choir Latvija for No Baltijas krasta, the Liepāja Symphony Orchestra for Romualds Kalsons: Instrumentālie koncerti,
the Rīga Dome Boys Choir and Collegium Musicum Rīga for J.S.Bach: Choral Motets & Organ Compositions, Dzintra Erliha for Zvaigznes skatiens and Shady Brass Q for Latvian Composers.

Best instrumental, theater or film music album nominees are Juris Kulakovs and others for Ētera odējs, Artis Gāga for Tumša nakte, zaļa zāle, Gunārs Rozenbergs and the Mirage Jazz Orchestra for My Favourite Things, Imants Ziedonis and Raimonds Tiguls for Epifānijas, and Ingus Ulmanis, Rūta Muktupāvela and others for Čuņčiņa dienas un nakts grāmata.

Best alternative music album nominees are Imants Daksis for Tu esi dziļa, EXIT for Ticket to Paradise, Jana Hermann for Disco Discovert, Lidojošais paklājs for Lidojošais paklājs and The Briefing for Funny Thoughts.

Best children’s album nominees are Aisha, Niks Matvejevs and Knīpas un knauķi for Pifa piedzīvojumi, the Rīga Dome Choir School’s Girls Choir and Instrumental Group for Gribas drusku pablēņoties, Inese Kučinska and others for Kaspars Vecvagars: Diegabundža, and various artists for Lāčuka dziesmas 2.

Best dance music album nominees are Roberts Lejasmeijers for Restaurācija, Brīvdiena for Mākoņi baltie, Forte for Laika upe and Ella for Welcome to the Club.

Best schlager album nominees are Normunds Rutulis for Vēlreiz mājās, various artists for 11 stāsti par laimi, various artists for Mana dziesma Latvijai, Baltie lāči for Līdz rudenim and Guntis Skrastiņš and No 1/2 vārda for Ķeizarkroņi.

Best country album nominees are Aldis Rullis and Emburgas zēni for Pavasara logs, Klaidonis for Labāko dziesmu izlase and Sestā jūdze for Kalendārs.

Best music video nominees are Detlef Zoo for “So Cold,” Detlef Zoo for “Love Town,” 
Prāta vētra for “Ja tikai uz mani tu paskatītos,” Jana Hermann for “Revolution” and Ella for “Shine Like a Superstar.”

Best concert video nominees are Raimonds Pauls and Latvia’s youth choirs for Raimonds Pauls: Dziedāšanas svētki ‘08, Various artists for Liepājas dzintars, Prāta vētra for Tur kaut kam ir jābūt koncerts Mežaparkā, and Mikus Roze, Arta Kaņķele and Knīpas un knauķi for Reiz bija…

Debut of the year nominees are Āķis (Kaspars Jansons) for the album Lūpā, Shady Brass Q for the album Latvian Composers, Dzintra Erliha for the album Zvaigznes skatiens, Jana Hermann for the album Disco Discovert, and Rihards Zaļupe and others for the album Marimba Dance.

Also to be awarded is the top radio hit of 2008 and the lifetime achievement honor.

For more on the competition, and to see past winners, visit

Gada balva

Andris Straumanis is a special correspondent for and a co-founder of Latvians Online. From 2000–2012 he was editor of the website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *