Latvian accordionist Ksenija Sidorova releases third album

Latvian accordionist Ksenija Sidorova has released her third album (and her major label debut on Deutsche Grammophon) entitled Carmen – a reimagining of the songs from Georges Bizet’s opera Carmen as performed by accordion.

Sidarova is joined by the ensemble Nuevo Mundo, Itamar Doari on percussion, Reentko Dirks on guitar, Michael Abramovich on piano, as well as the Borusan Istanbul Philharmonic Orchestra, conducted by Sascha Goetzel.

As Sidorova notes, “…on this album my collaborators and I have brought our own Carmen fantasies to life, expressing our multicultural creative impulses in each number and refreshing Bizet’s original fusion with an exciting blend of Latino, oriental, European and North American spices.”

Ksenija will be performing throughout the summer, including stops at the Dzintari Concert Hall in Jūrmala, Latvia, the Mosel Music Festival in Mosel, Germany, the Verbier Festival in Verbier, Switzerland, and the Ravinia Festival in Highland Park, Illinois, in the United States.

For further information, please visit Ksenija Sidorova’s website at


Track listing:

  1. Carmen’s Walk
  2. Seguidillas
  3. La Siesta
  4. Chanson bohème
  5. Love Song
  6. Soir mélancolique
  7. Sunrise Over Seville
  8. In the Cards
  9. La Fiesta
  10. The Other Woman
  11. Spanish Pride
  12. À la bohèmienne
  13. Date With Destiny
  14. Reflections
  15. Daybreak
  16. Toreador (Los Toreros)
  17. Carmen’s Shadow

Egils Kaljo is an American-born Latvian from the New York area . Kaljo began listening to Latvian music as soon as he was able to put a record on a record player, and still has old Bellacord 78 rpm records lying around somewhere.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *