Female artists compose new songs with Aspazija’s poetry on “Pretējības”

In honor of Latvian poet Aspazija’s 150th birthday in 2015, a project to compose new songs with her poetry was initiated by the University of Latvia radio station Naba. The result, a collection of fifteen songs performed by women and groups led by women is called Pretējības, and was published by NABA Music/Melo Records.

Gathering a wide variety of female artists, the eclectic collection features performers like Sus Dungo, Alise Joste, Zāle, among many others. The album art is provided by Alisa Ādamsone.

Radio Naba was founded in 2002 at the University of Latvia as a free format radio station, and can also be streamed online.

For further information, please visit the Radio Naba website.


Track listing:

  1. Dana Indāne – Pabērtas sēkliņas
  2. Zāle – Nemiera bērns
  3. Alise Joste feat. Čipsis un Dullais – Gar paradīzes maliņu
  4. Jauno Jāņu Orķestris – Odziņa
  5. Evija Vēbere feat. Aurora – Tāltālu aiz laika
  6. Kuzucuk – Das jüngste Gericht
  7. Biezoknis – Dzelzceļa vilciens naktī
  8. Waterflower (Sabīne Moore) – Nervu koks
  9. UP – Princese
  10. Anna Pluto – Aspazijas sapnis
  11. Sus Dungo – Rembranta gaismā
  12. Stūrī zēvele – Visaugstāko!
  13. Nebijušā restauratori – Pēc tūkstots gadiem
  14. Amorālā pshihoze – Aizgāja
  15. Helēna Kozlova – Viens vienīgs vārds

Egils Kaljo is an American-born Latvian from the New York area who lives in Rīga, Latvia. When not working in the information technology field, he sings in the Latvian Academy of Culture mixed choir Sõla, does occasional translation work, and has been known to sing and play guitar at the Folkklubs Ala Pagrabs in Old Rīga. Kaljo began listening to Latvian music as soon as he was able to put a record on a record player, and still has old Bellacord 78 rpm records lying around somewhere.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *