Ērglis teams with Pauls on album of pop tunes

Through the years, composer Raimonds Pauls has teamed up with quite a few young talents. The latest to benefit from the Pauls’ touch is Andris Ērglis, who worked with the composer to record the new album Caur rozā brillēm.

The 12-track album of light pop tunes was released a few weeks ago on the MICREC label. All lyrics are by Guntars Račs. Recorded in Liepāja, the album features guest appearances by singers Annija Putniņa, Ieva Kerēvica, Ance Krauze and Zane Biķe.

Ērglis, 27, has been associated with music since childhood. Born in Aizpute, he moved to Liepāja at the age of 15, according to a profile on MICREC’s Web site. He has performed both as a solo artist and as a member of bands, most notably the short-lived ensemble Cacao. Two years ago, he was a member of Bonaparti.lv, the six-man tenor act that performed the Italian-language “Questa Notte” as Latvia’s entry in the 2008 Eurovision Song Contest. His solo debut album, released in 2008, was Sirdspuksti.

Songs on Caur rozā brillēm include:

  • Divreiz
  • To, kā nav(a)
  • Dziesmas
  • Misters Liktenis
  • Ziemeļa glāsts
  • Nekādu cerību
  • Tik daudz ir bijis
  • Neskati vīru no cepures
  • Caur rozā brillēm
  • Jūra līdz ceļiem
  • Viss ir daudz vienkāršāk
  • Nekad un vienmēr

For more on Ērglis, see his page on the draugiem.lv social network.

Caur rozā brillēm

Composer Raimonds Pauls and singer Andris Ērglis collaborated on the album Caur rozā brillēm.

Andris Straumanis is a special correspondent for and a co-founder of Latvians Online. From 2000–2012 he was editor of the website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *