Collection of choir compositions by Latvian Radio Chamber Singers

The Latvian Radio Chamber Singers (Latvijas Radio kora grupa), made up of members of the larger Latvian Radio Choir, and conducted by Kaspars Putniņš, have released a new CD – Latvijas jaunā raža (New Latvian Harvest) featuring new choir compositions by Latvian composers.

The Chamber Singers, according to the CD booklet, were founded in the early 1990s with the goal of creating a smaller soloist ensemble to focus on contemporary, often experimental, choir works.

The CD, featuring compositions by younger Latvian composers such as Mārtiņš Viļums, Santa Ratniece, and Ēriks Ešenvalds, among others, also includes brief biographies of all the composers, brief commentary on the works, and all song texts in Latvian and English (as well as original language).

For more information on the Latvian Radio Choir, please visit their website at

Track listing:

1. Le temps scintille… – Mārtiņš Viļums

2. Verso l’alto (Part I – Ho atteso) – Ruta Paidere

3. Verso l’alto (Part II – Ma le mie urla) – Ruta Paidere

4. Verso l’alto (Part III – In quest’oscuro) – Ruta Paidere

5. Light Seeking Light – Gundega Šmite

6. Sleep – Rolands Kronlaks

7. horo horo hata hata – Santa Ratniece

8. Ligeija – Kristaps Pētersons

9. Sunset: St. Louis – Ēriks Ešenvalds


Egils Kaljo is an American-born Latvian from the New York area . Kaljo began listening to Latvian music as soon as he was able to put a record on a record player, and still has old Bellacord 78 rpm records lying around somewhere.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *